Civil 3D Drainage Input Using Dynamo

Hi

I’m new to Dynamo. I’m trying to input an existing drainage network into Dynamo and add some automation functions for pit rotation.

I was stuck at the first step which is to import and display the network in Dynamo work space. Please refer to below image for details:

After running the script, nothing showed in the Dynamo work space (not even a point). Could someone please let me know how can I display the points and structures in Dynamo space? Thanks.

Ryan

1 Like

@ryan.xuCZYAS can you select the node that extracts the Structure Solids, swtich to the 3D background and click on zoom view?

Hi Paolo

Thanks for your prompt reply.

I selected the node ‘Structure.Solid’ - went to 3d view - clicked zoom to fit, but nothing displayed. Please refer to below images:

Any suggestions?

Regards

Ryan

can you share the dataset? I see you have 2 networks, could if be that they are very far apart?

Sure Paolo.

Please find below link for the cad and dynamo files (sorry I can’t upload files as a new user).

We just have one network and the elements are not far apart. Thanks.

Regards

Ryan

Ryan,

Paolo is correct. I went into the civil 3d and opened the prospector. You have two storm drainage networks in your drawing. “Test” network is quite far away from your actual network. Once I deleted the test network, ran the dynamo script, and zoomed to the solids in the 3d view the network appeared. You can select a network regardless of it’s position by selecting it from the prospector. Delete the incorrect network and proceed.

Hope this helps,

Shaun

Hi Shaun

Thanks your reply. Sorry to confuse you about having two networks in the cad file - I deleted the test network after Paolo’s reply, but forgot to save that down before sharing out…

I double checked and deleted the ‘Test’ Network, saved down and restarted cad. Then I went back in c3d/Dynamo and ran the script. Please refer to below image which shows that I have one network: