Change Revit Generic Model Category to Specialty Equipment in Dynamo

Hello,

I need to take all generic models in a Revit file and change them to specialty equipment. I know I can do this individually in the Revit Family but I have such a large number of families to convert I am hoping Dynamo can create a more streamlined process. I am doing this to be able to view all the equipment pieces in a Revit schedule with their corresponding room number and since generic models are are not room aware I need to change them to a family category that is. I am new to Dynamo but I have been able to get this together from blogs etc. Maybe its relevant or not… Any ideas on how to accomplish this change?

Dynamo

Changing categories creates tons of graphics issues, from line weights to cut graphics (or not cutting at all). Instead of changing the model category, why not enable the room calculation point in the families? Once that is done I believe that they will report the containing room as any other “room aware” family type would.

See this post for help on enabling that feature
http://dynamobim.org/forums/topic/modify-room-calculation-point-toggle-builtin-parameter/

Thanks Jacob,

The link you sent was helpful and I think this works well but I have a few questions:

I started with using part of Konrad’s dynamo script. The snag I encounter is that the families I want to allow 'room calculation point’s for are from the model (they come from a consultants model that I need to edit) so saving each family to a folder defeats the usefulness of dynamo. So I was attempting to marry the category selection with the room calculation point Python script albeit unsuccessfully. Is there a way to carry elements of a category over? I tried using a List and Group but no luck there…

Also where does the “D:\12_Dynamo073 EditFamilyAndReload” come from? Is this something he created or within Dynamo?