Beam numbering by Mark - Headers by Type Mark

I’m a total novice at Dynamo but I think what I want to do must be super simple. I want to number my beams by the Mark parameter, which of course is of the the structural framing category. I only want to number beams and not headers, rafters, joists, etc. so I am assuming that I would use the Assembly Code field to number only the beams. I would also like to label my headers similarly but with a Type Mark. Beams would have a “B” prefix and Headers would have and “H” prefix.

This can be done with Dynamo.

This would be a good problem (case) to start learning Dynamo.

Try put something together first. And then, if you have any questions, post them here.

People won’t do the work for you (in other words; make the graph) :wink:.

But I want someone to do it for me. Lol, kidding. I have a script that works (kind of) for Type Marks, this is one that I made for renumbering windows a while back and used as a starting point for the beams. If I simply type “Mark” in the code block, it breaks the script. I also have no idea how to filter all the elements that I don’t want to renumber. I also tried to change the prefix in the code block in front of list create to numbers instead of letters and that broke the script too. My biggest challenge is that I don’t understand the logic necessarily of what I’m trying to do.

I need to so more of the graph (the output) of all the nodes.

Also; are your lists of equal length?
(Not allways necessary though)

If I simply type “Mark” in the code block, it breaks the script.

You’d also need to remove the Element.ElementType node so you’re getting element instances rather than element types.

I also have no idea how to filter all the elements that I don’t want to renumber