Add Reference to Revit/Dynamo dll files through Visual Studio Professional/Community

Hi all!
I am relatively new to writing code, especially Python for Dynamo/Revit. Anyhow, for quite a while I was breaking my neck on how to add Revit/Dynamo dll files to the project in Visual Studio as the program seems to not allow me to add references through the “Add Reference” option of the project solution as there is no browser button to load them.

Loaded Dll's to the Object Browser

Yesterday I had a breakthrough in which I discovered that it is able to add references through the Object Browser (where I managed to add the dll files) and from there add them to the reference. Only that now when I try to Add Reference in the code or access the dll libraries - I am still receiving the following error (added below as it is pretty long).

Pic of error

I would like to add that it still doesn’t show me the Assemblies inside the Add Reference window (it may sound smart but have no idea if relevent :sweat_smile:)

Assemblies & Project Solution

File “”, line 1, in
IOError: System.IO.IOException: Could not add reference to assembly RevitNodes
at IronPython.Runtime.ClrModule.AddReference(CodeContext context, String name)
at IronPython.Runtime.ClrModule.AddReference(CodeContext context, Object reference)
at IronPython.Runtime.ClrModule.AddReference(CodeContext context, Object references)
at Microsoft.Scripting.Interpreter.ActionCallInstruction2.Run(InterpretedFrame frame) at Microsoft.Scripting.Interpreter.Interpreter.Run(InterpretedFrame frame) at Microsoft.Scripting.Interpreter.LightLambda.Run4[T0,T1,T2,T3,TRet](T0 arg0, T1 arg1, T2 arg2, T3 arg3) at System.Dynamic.UpdateDelegates.UpdateAndExecute3[T0,T1,T2,TRet](CallSite site, T0 arg0, T1 arg1, T2 arg2) at Microsoft.Scripting.Interpreter.DynamicInstruction4.Run(InterpretedFrame frame)
at Microsoft.Scripting.Interpreter.Interpreter.Run(InterpretedFrame frame)