Training for Whileloop

I am training to understand how does the “Loopwhile” node works and when can I use it.

The aim of the exercise is to get a list of a decreasing range of integers beginning by 16, where the following number is the previous divided by 2 until 1.

I am quite new in Dynamo and I just use it from time to time. I do not understand what I am doing wrong. I do leave a .jpg of the visual code. The green output is what I am trying to get and the orange output is what I actually get.

I am sorry but as a new user i cannot upload .dyn attachments.

I apologise if this topic has been discussed already, please kindly leave a link of reference.

Any help will be very welcome.

Thank you for your time and knowledge.

@CTV ,

check out here designScript or Python!

OUT =[]

while i < 6:
	i += 1
	OUT.append(i)

KR

Andreas

(Sorry for the wall of text.)

First off, loops in Dynamo aren’t typically necessary (for standard workflows) due to how Dynamo handles lists automatically. By default, Dynamo will iterate through a list and continue a function for the length of the list.

The LoopWhile node applies a function (loopBody) to an object until the continueWhile condition is false. Both the continueWhile and loopBody inputs need to be valid functions for the node to work. The node does not return the output of each iteration, only the final output once the condition fails. Trying to make this node work by adding to a list (and only running on the last item in the list) will not work.

When you do need a true loop functionality, python will almost always be better, faster, and easier, even with just a little bit of python experience. Most of the time however, if you have all the values needed to create the loop, you can just solve for the output directly - no loop needed.