Search and replace just the first character

I’m trying to replace the letter A but only if it’s the first character in a sheet number. Any ideas?

What have you tried so far?

Thanks for the reply. Here’s what I have so far.

String.Replace will replace any instance of your input. In your case “A-00-A01” will become “AA-00-AA01”.
Try to use node String.StartsWith to filter those sheets that their number starts with “A”.
Then, you can use String.IndexOf and String.Remove and String.insert to replace the start of the strings, for example.

Thanks again for the reply. Sounds easy but I’m a beginner. Not sure how to use String.IndexOf.

String.IndexOf will return the index/position of the first occurrence of the character/s looked for. This will help to locate on the string where to remove/add your value.
Depending on your numbering convention, it can be easier if they start with “A-” for example.

See picture and file attached, hope it helps :slight_smile:

sheetNumberReplace.dyn (19.5 KB)

Thank you so much!!! I’ll look at it and see if I can get it going. MUCH appreciated!

For some reason some of the sheets are getting skipped. Any idea why? Thank you.

Capture

Here’s my graph.

I’d include the dyn but the forum won’t allow new users to upload dan files.

Search your library for substring. Use that node to get the first character (index 0 length 1).

Use a code block to replace anything that is just A with AA as follows:

val == “A”? “AA”: val

Then use the substrig node to get everything after the 1st character. Hint: you’ll need to get. The string length for this.

Then use a + node to add the results of the code block to the rest of the string.

Give it a shot and see where you get.

In your screen capture above you need to pass your list of sheet elements through a List.FilterByBoolMask node using the same mask as the sheet numbers, so you are setting the parameter value for the correct elements