Manage Revit Elements from Custom Node (Convert Revit.Elements to Autodesk.Revit.DB)

Hi,

My Background
I’m new to coding both for creating custom nodes for Dynamo and in generally. I have some experience with C# in Grashopper for Rhino, however I mostly created calculation nodes. I have considered Zero Touch by YouTube-videos from “Simply Complex” and “Danny Bentley”. Furthermore, I have become acquainted with the homepages “GitHub” and “thebuildingcoder”.

Problem
I’m trying to create a custom node like ClockWork: FamilyType.SetCompoundLayerWidth, because I cannot get it to work (Dynamo 1.3 and Revit 2018). I would like to create it by C# (Zero Touch), as described in My Background I have some knowledge about this language and I to some degree can get help from a friend. As a reference I have looked at: CmdNewWallLayer.cs from thebuildingcoder.

The problem I’m having is that in terms of my limited knowledge the only inputs from Dynamo to a custom node in this case is Revit.Elements.XXX. However, in order to alter the thickness of a layer by CompoundStructure it needs to by Autodesk.Revit.DB.XXX. By trying various things I quickly found out that you can’t set Revit.Elements.WallType equal to Autodesk.Revit.DB.WallType :slight_smile: (?) . I then tried to use the information from “Intro to Zero Touch 202(creating a custom node that gets a Revit Element ID)” to maybe search by ElementId etc. Some examples of what I have tried is shown here ( sorry for the quality in advance :wink: ):

public static void GetWall(Revit.Elements.WallType element, double LW, int LI)
        {
            Autodesk.Revit.DB.WallType type;
            type = element;

Autodesk.Revit.DB.CompoundStructure CS = type.GetCompoundStructure();
            CS.SetLayerWidth(LI, LW);
            type.SetCompoundStructure(CS);
        }

public static void Test4(Revit.Elements.Element element)
        {
            Autodesk.Revit.DB.Element UnW;
            UnW = element.InternalElement;