Help with IF Conditional Statement

Hello everybody!

I’m relatively new to Dynamo and in need of a quick help. I’m trying to create a script which should do something like this:

Please find me all the Cable Trays in the model. IF for those elements in the Comments field (parameter) is written “123” than please write “456” instead of that. IF NOT, do nothing, have a beer and relax…

Of course, I did something wrong. He’s writing “456” to every single Cable Trays in the model and I think that my IF loop is not used at all! This is just a simple example for my general understanding of how IF loop really works in Dynamo. I’m guessing that there are many other ways to perform this task, but I would really like to do it with the IF loop.

Thanks!

Hi,

If you really want to use the IF node, you should use it to create a new list of values where 123 is replaced with 456 and then use the Element Set Parameter by Name node.

I normally use FilterByBoolMask or AllIndicesOf and GetItemAtIndex to filter the elements.

Hope it helps
Giovanni

1 Like

Excellent, this explained a lot! Thanks Gio!

Oh, really nice! Different approach… I like it! Thanks a lot erfajo! Cheers!

And another option… I find it useful when needing so set a value for the “false”.

As stated it shows how elements which fail the test are given a value.

It expands upon a solution in the second post making this possibility explicit.

The if node has been bothering me for quite some time. I have created my Python node that works like an IF. It might not be brilliant code but it gets the job done.

"""
Replacement of Dynamo IF node
"""
__author__ = Daniel Gijsbers 
__version__ = '1.0.0'

# Enable Python support and load DesignScript library
import clr

# The inputs to this node will be stored as a list in the IN variables.
ToF = IN[0] # a boolean
List1 = IN[1]
List2 = IN[2]

Result = []

if ToF == True:
	Result.append(List1)
else:
	Result.append(List2)