CurrentDBDocument

Hi ,

i am new to python scripting in dynamo. so please excuse me if my question looks silly and shed some light on me :slight_smile:
what i understood from some tutorial in internet is, we have to use CurrentDBDocument method to accesses current open revit file. if i need to know the syntax i have to check the RevirServices.dll.
So i have opened dll file in visual studio community navigated to DocumentManager class from RevitServices.Persistence namespace in RevitServices assembly, i am clear till this point.
Now when i click on CurrentDBDocument Method i expect to see the syntax of that method which shows as CurrentDBDocument { get; } but what i learn from tutorial is i need to enter something like this
“”"
line1 - Clr.AddReference(‘RevitServices’)
line2 - from RevitServices.Persistence import DocumentManager
line3 - from RevitServices.Persistence import TransactionManager
line4 - doc = DocumentManager.Instance.CurrentDBDocument
“”"
mu confusion is in line 4 , “doc” is the variable, i need to store this value in some variable so i have created a variable. now which i didn’t understand is **DocumentManager.Instance.**CurrentDBDocument
can someone explain me why i need to write DocumentManager.Instance why can’t i directly use CurrentDBDocument

Thanks a lot

You can not use it directly because you have to do it over DocumentManager. Only over DocumentManager you can access CurrentDBDocument.

1 Like

as i have stated in line 2 i have imported the DocumentManager class into current file
1)in general while working with any other module if we import the specific class in the module all the methods of that class will be imported to current program. to call the methods its not required to call with class name.
2)what about instance why i need to use that ?