Attach family instance to topographic surface

Hello Dynamo Users,

I am fairly new to Dynamo and would love some assistance with a project I am working on. We have this sitework project and I have to model all of the planters/root balls for MEP coordination, and there will be a few thousand trees installed for this site. I was given the CAD drawing for the tree layout along with the grading file from the designers. With those files I was able to create a Topo from the grading file and in AutoCAD I extracted the (x,y) coordinates of the trees into Microsoft Excel.

What I have done in Dynamo is used the Excel file to get my (x,y) coordinates for my root balls, but the problem I am facing now is attaching it to the Topo. My idea was to get the (x,y) in Dynamo, and then back in Revit I would Select All, Pick New Host, and host it to the Topo. Didn’t realize that Dynamo wouldn’t allow me to do this, so now I am having difficulty in finding the right language to set these root balls to their right Z coordinate. Any help with be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Brandon Medina

2015-04-28 11_22_39-Dynamo

May I kindly suggest you do a search for “topo” on this forum? This question has already been answered before. :wink:

Also, have a look at Jostein’s blog: http://jbdynamo.blogspot.no

Thanks for the reference Andreas. I would have tried something like the following, Brandon. Could probably make it more concise, but you get the idea.

slett meg

Thank you for Jostein’s blog page, Andreas. There is a lot of useful information in there. Kudos, Jostein, and thank you for your workflow.

New question: what would you say that maximum amount of points in a given topo should be?

As of now I have the Simply Surface tool set to 1’-0" accuracy, and is giving me almost 40,000 points. I tried running dynamo with this amount. It ran for about 45+ minutes and then I received this error.

2015-05-05 11_14_13-Image Preview

The answer is 42.

Just kidding, obviously… Haven’t got a clue.