Write property value by family

Hi,

I am starting with Dynamo and don’t know a lot. I spent 3 days trying to figure this out before I gave up and decided to ask for help here.
I would like to write property value of labels that are visible on plan view. I would like these values to be assigned based on the family name. The idea behind it is to have ‘‘gauge’’ field for frames on the floor (not entire building) populated according to the gauge of the members used for frames. I’d like to add that there are frames of various gauges on one floor. Below screen grab of where I got so far after multiple attempts(sorry but I can upload only one file as a new user). Any insight would be appreciated and remember that I am a total noob in Dynamo.

1.Most successful so far
2.Plan view with frame labels
3.Frame members

Hi @Mariusz.Czupryna ,

First of all, welcome to the Dynamo community :slight_smile:
Could you maybe share what you have achieved so far and where you are stuck? (with some screenshots)

1 Like

It is very difficult to understand what you are trying to accomplish.

How much experience do you have with Revit?

1 Like

Hi guys,

Thanks for expressing interest in this post.
Let me explain it a little bit better (hopefully).
I am working with structural framings via MWF in Revit 2018-2020 (whatever client uses).
on the plan below you can see a plan view with frame elements and frame label F-39.
frame members and frame label are separate elements and connected only by parameter ‘‘BIMSF_Container’’ (also photo below).

Now, I need to manually add gauge to the label property.

This gauge is derived from the structural framing element thickness which is described by the code ‘‘F10020’’ in family type name where ‘‘20’’ at the end of the code means 2.0 thickness.