Verify that naming of type and families complies with office standard

Hello,
I’m doing my master thesis and the topic is about model checking using Dynamo. What I am exactly doing is to verify that a model meets the standards defined by the office for a specific project.
I started working on this script a month ago and I got several results, but right now I can not solve a problem.
One of these checks that I’m developing through Dynamo concerns the naming of types and families.
For example, the walls are named following the rule that each layer has a capital letter and two numbers associated with it, that identify the specific material. The code for the wall ends with the thickness of the wall indicated in centimeters (A00_00cm). A wall made up of two layers will then be coded with A00_B00_00cm.
What I want to achieve is verify that all the types complies with these standards and generate a report able to shows the ID of the type that are note conforms with these standards.
How can I verify if all the types within a category of the model complies with the standards explained above? Do you have any advice on this?

2 Likes
  1. Clearify things. What do you want to achieve in the end.
  2. if that is clear: what info is needed
  3. then how to do it.

So

1. either A00_B00_00cm or A00_00cm
  2. you need A and B and thickness
  3. get that.

use regex forexample to “wildcard” your selection
etc?

Perhaps you can show what you already have, and where you bump into problems?

The first thing I want to know is if the type is named correctly, following the format:

• capital letter
  • number
  • number
  • underscore
  • number
  • number
  • cm
    After this I would like obtain a list of “true” and “false” and export from dynamo all the ID of the “false” .
    This is what I’ve done for the moment but I think to be quite far from getting a solution at the moment.
    Thanks for helping me anyway

So … without exploding all the wall-type-names and verifying all …