Tag all pipes based on diameter range

Hi Everyone,

Dynamo noob here. I have been waiting for a use case which will require Dynamo, and here I am!

I’m working with sprinkler piping and I want to achieve the following:
Tag all pipes with an outside diameter greater than 26.7mm but less than 168.3mm

Abovementioned will be ideal, but I will be more than happy if it’s only a selection based on the diameter range. I will then use Tag All (Selection) to complete the task.

Any advice will be appreciated. Thanks in advance!

J

You can get parameters from pipes using the node GetParameterByName, use the string Outside Diameter and then an if command to find if it is >26.7 and <168.3. This will get you a list of true or falses which you can filter using FilterByBoolMask node. Give it a try and let us know how it goes. If you get stuck, come back with a specific problem and we can help.

If you are really new to Dynamo, I would suggest going through the Primer first and watch some of the tutorial videos on this website.

Thanks, kennyb6! I will give it a try.

Hi Kenny,

This is what I have so far :confused:

I decided to rather use the “size” parameter and I can successfully get the list to display the sizes, but I’m not sure how to proceed from here with the “If” and List.FilterByBoolMask. I basically want to select all pipes >20ø & <150ø

I looked through other example scripts and found a Python script which initiates the selection of the elements, in case you’re wondering what it is.

Thanks in advance for any advice!

@jacobusuys

Hows this:

I have shown 2 ways to do it. Let me know if you need explanation
Note that if you use the “Number” node instead of Code Block to input the high and low values, you can adjust the high and lows in dynamo player.

@danielU3R39

Thanks for this!

Please explain if possible. I will try to recreate this in the meanwhile.

@danielU3R39

This is my attempt: