Seeking Help on Creating a Flat Roof with sloped drainage and uniformly thick sheathing on top

Hello,

I have looked through the forums to find an answer for this, but as of yet, had no success. I am trying develop a better method of flat roof (membrane/plywood over sloped insulation) modeling and would welcome any advice users might have. I currently use the method of cutting a thick insulation roof with an in-place void family. This achieves a good result in plan but does not include the sheathing layer in section. Alternatively, I can manipulate a multi-layer assembly of insulation and sheathing (insulation thickness variable), but that generates undesirable linework in plan that I would like to avoid.

Has anyone tackled this before? I am still new to dynamo and attempted a solution using clockwork nodes, but no luck. Thank you for all of your help!

This wont help you accomplish it with Dynamo, but: There are ways to model it with Shape Editing (the multi-layer variable thickness insulation middle) you are describing, that can avoid the additional linework in Plan. You have to use a subtractive method of modeling the roof oversize as uniform sheets, and then simply cutting it away with vertical openings. Its quite fast to do, and the slopes are all perfect, and there is no unwanted linework.

But its a bit backwards in thinking. Its a bit more like grading a site, than designing a roof, haha.

Thank you for you help on this Aaron. I think I may understand the method you are describing, but a few questions. In this process, are you using separate oversized layers for the insulation and for the sheathing? Also, will the sloped sheathing hatch in the final result run parallel to the slope of the roof, or will it appear as the default orientation of the material (cut) hatch?