Return a unique value between 0001-1000 if 2 conditions are met

Hello! I am rather new to Dynamo and am in the midst of a school project. I am trying to do the following:
Assign a unique 4 digit code to given elements if the combination of 2 parameters match, not one or the other, but both. Created something out of thin air and it seems to almost work but I am missing something that i cannot identify.

Welcome!

You’ve got a couple good parts, we just need to piece them together properly and fill in the gaps.

There have been a couple discussions already today about searching/matching strings with multiple requirements. I’d suggest taking a look at those, but the main idea is that you want to check both conditions individually and then check a third time to see which elements specifically pass both conditions.

I’d filter your elements first, before creating a unique value. That way you have exactly the number of elements you’re writing to and don’t have to deal with another conditional statement. For the “random” part I’d suggest a Math.RandomList node, specifically one that allows you to set the amount of random values to generate. This does not actually ensure that all the values generated will be unique however. This can be more or less of a problem depending on how many values you’re creating, but we can solve that problem when we get to it.

EDIT: The thing I don’t understand is why you’re comparing the FamilyInstance Level with the Space Name. Those are two different elements with no relation, so you can’t compare them together. Are you wanting to get the Space of the FamilyInstance and compare that way?

2 Likes

Hello, and thanks for the answer :slight_smile: