Renumbering rooms based on multiple parameters

I am a complete newbie to Dynamo. I have managed make a few simple scripts and thats it.
So I really don’t know where to start with this. I have tried searching for similar issues, but havn’t been able to find something useful.

I want to use Dynamo to renumber all rooms based on multiple parameters.

We can have several buildings in the same model so I need to renumber all my rooms based on level and a shared parameter(buildingID).

Example
Level 1, Building 1, Room number: 001, 002, 003 etc.
Level 1, Building 2, Room number: 001, 002, 003 etc.
Level 2, Building 1, Room number: 001, 002, 003 etc.

Is this at all possible?

As long as your room numbers are unique it should be doable.

Oh, why do they need to be unique?

just try it, revit will give you a warning

Hey,

So yes very doable… Usually this is based off drawing a Spline to define the order of rooms, with various filters to remove rooms with no area or perhaps to not number corridors.

For a rectangular building you can find the average location point and number according to angle, pulling level information or whatever you want to plug in.

I think the problem you’ll have is the examples will be from long long ago…

I would go through this Archilab blog (though you’ll likely find nodes have changed name in the years since) as a great learning experience from a master.

Here’s some other stuff you might find useful…

Cheers,

Mark

Hey Mark

Thanks a lot, I will give it a read see if it helps. Yeah I’ve run into guides and blogs that just don’t work anymore.
My main issue is figuring out how to get Dynamo to count from 1 whenever Level and the shared parameter changes so I can add the count number to the room number parameter. Which might not have been clear based on my OP.

Ok cool, have a look at my graph, i group by key using level then count the numbers in each group… then you can just put 1…X and flatten the result…

1 Like

Hey Mark