Random Mullion selection

Hey guys,

I’m trying to make a similar facade to the one seen here

I’m currently using a few different custom mullion profiles along a tight horizontal grid on massing. I’ve never used dynamo before but is there a simple script I could use to randomise selection of the mullions on the host so that I can change their type in the drop down without having to manually select them all? Better yet would be a way to first create a completely random placement of the vertical grid members so that all of my custom mullions have a different length (at the moment I have a fixed grid and I’m just selecting 3-4 different grid segments when changing the mullion type to give the appearance of a change in length).

1 Like

Hey, thanks heaps for your help. I’m just struggling with the code block list, I can’t add a list value to my code block as it’s saying “Error: List is a class name, can’t be used as a variable.”. I’m assuming I’m going about it incorrectly though.

You can replace “list” for “lst” or “n”.
I’m working with Dynamo 1.3.2

1 Like

Generally speaking, you should never use a class name or method as a variable name because of errors like you got. Especially starting with a capital letter in a variable as basically all classes/methods start with a capital and everything is case-sensitive in coding.

The specific error you got was using the capital L in List but you should change the name to something else, like @m.rijsmus said: “lst”, etc.

1 Like

@kennyb6

He said he never used Dynamo before :slight_smile:
Maybe this information is not gonna help him/her

You are right tho :slight_smile:

1 Like

cheers,

I have the the script running, but it’s currently using all mullion types in the model. What do i need to adjust in the script to use just certain elements?

Can you post a picture of your Dynamo graph? If you are using @m.rijsmus’s, I am guessing you just need to mess with the upper portion + lacing/indexing.