Python - understanding types of returned values

Hi,

I would appriciate some advise on understanding returned values from Python expressions in Dynamo.

I’m fairly new to Dyanmo and I think part of the issues I have is that I’m not understanding the difference between some values.

So to give an example:

locations = doc.ProjectLocations

Returns: Autodesk.Revit.DB.ProjectLocation

whereas

locations = doc.ActiveProjectLocation

Returns: ProjectLocation 1218

So whats the difference between these two results? And why is one of returned instead of the other?

I think the second one is an actual object in the Revit database (hence the ID at the end), but the is not the first one the same thing?

Thanks.

Hi Kevin,

this isn’t necessarily a quick and easy answer. Do you have access to the Revit API help file, Revit 2017.1 API.chm? (Name depends on what version of the SDK you’ve downloaded). This tends to have pretty good explanations about the way Revit works internally; its structures aren’t always the most intuitive (at least to me, but I’m no software engineer!).

For instance the ProjectLocation Class has a remark:

“Revit Architecture projects can have named locations. A named location is the position of a model instance in a Revit Architecture project. By default, each Revit Architecture project contains at least one named location, called Internal. Existing ProjectLocation objects can be found by using the ProjectLocations property on the Document object. New project locations can be created by duplicating an existing project location using the Duplicate method, and modifying the location’s project position.”

ActiveProjectLocation is a property of the Document class, because it relates to the geographical settings of the project file (document) Dynamo attached itself when you opened it.

Hi @Kevin.Bell

Didn’t this was answered before on this thread.

1 Like