Is Pseudocode really important for writing any Program

Hi this is Palak Sharma
I am an engineering student, I am learning lots of programming languages here. Python Programming is my favorite programming language. I have taken a project for development of Web Development. and we are planning for it and working on every possible aspect. One of my friend suggest me that before developing or starting Software or Web application I should read about Pseudocode, and he also insure me that it will help me to take rough idea for developing any kind of application doesn’t matter which programming language you are going to use. I am very confused now. What should I do, Does Pseudocode really helpful for Programming.
Kindly give your valuable suggestions on this. Will be a great support.
Thanks

2 Likes

@plksharma481 ,

pseudocode is crusial, because you have to translate “real work” in a programing lenguage f.e.

you have to divide a workflow or problem in logic (programing) steps and also to reverse it, so that a enduser can work with your script(or interface).

KR

Andreas

2 Likes

Since I have an AEC background, I’ll give you an AEC based thought experiment.

Say you want to build a house. Think about what it would look like. Get a good vision of the end goal. Really let it sink in. What rooms will you have? Best to keep it small; say 4 rooms in this case. Where will they be? Where are the doors and windows? What about plumbing fixtures? Get all the details too, like the trim and paint colors. Make sure you remember it.
Got a good vision? Great because you’ve just been teleported to the local home improvement store. You have 60 minutes to get the complete listing of every material you need to build that home, from the foundation to the roof. Framing to finish.
Done shopping? Cool as we will now start assembling the house. You bought or rented an excavator to dig the foundation right? No? Ok, guess we’re heading back to the home improvement store.