Import all Design Script Methods to Python

Currently, when we start a Python Script, the script starts with the import of the DesignScript.Geometry library. I’m no python expert, so does anyone know how to import the rest of the DesignScript libraries? Specifically, I want to use String.StartsWith, but Python tells me that it does not recognize “String” - which clues me in to needing to import some more things…

Ideas?

Hi Ben,

You can import the core list, math and string functions like so:

2015-10-01_23-13-20

Tho it might be a lot simpler if you use native python instead:

2015-10-01_23-13-43

Agreed Python might be easier…if you know by heart all of the ways to do things in Python. If i don’t know the python way, but i do know the Dynamo Node way, it’s much more efficient to Sketch it out in Dynamo , NodeToCode, then Copy/Paste into Python and modify as needed (compared to StrackOverflow searching). Yes it’s lazy, but it works. I really prefer this to DS because the If/ElIf/Else and Try/Except in Python are much more logical to me. Why reinvent something if i can get it in two seconds?

So if i wanted all string methods, would i follow “DSCore.String” with “import *”?

And if i wanted all list methods, “DSCore.List”? etc, etc…

I was just looking at setting up Python and some math modules on my mac graphic design rig at home. It’s that or keep learning Mathmatica 10 but that’s harder to get into REVIT later on. How much python code runs in Dynamo? It doesn’t seem to be a very well explored topic.

The Python in Dynamo is a little different than the Python that you would install as a stand-alone on your computer. It is IronPython. You can Google it and the differences in IronPython and Python. There are a few methods that might not be part of it, but I’ve found thus far i’m the limiting factor rather than Python. Also, Python is available in the Revit Macro editor, so learning IronPython will get you a skill you can use on two fronts (Dynamo and Revit).