If statement doesn't work well

Hi all,

I’m a newbie to Design Script, would be glad for some help:

I have a bunch of elements I want to create an opening for.
First I created an opening and then I use an If-statment to change it’s type (in the pic):
If a type with the given name exists it change the openings type to this type.
If it doesn’t exist, it should create the type, define the diameter and then change the openings type.

The “if-false” part works perfectly (which surprised me, I thought I would need a loop to get it to work for each element).
The “if-true” part works fine when there is only one element selected, but when working with a few elements- it doesn’t change the type!

Any suggestions?!

Thanks in advance,
Ifat.

This is just a guess, because I can’t see the lists you are feeding it, but I suspect there is some kind of a mismatch between the number of elements in each list you are feeding it.

“Open Instance” is a list of elements (I’m guessing)? “doesNameExist” is a matching list with a true/false for each element in the list “OpenInstance”?

However, “listContainsTrue” is a list with a single element: Either true or False. So when this code attempts to iterate through the lists, you only get one shot at the first part of the IF statement.

Instead, your “IF” test should check whether the value for each entry in the “doesNameExist” is True or False, and then operate on the corresponding element from the “OpenInstance” list. This may be easier to do as a separate function, something like the attached image (see the end of this post).

Actually, it seems like you could do a lot of this right in your code block, instead of generating a bunch of lists outside the code block and attempting to pass them in.
Many of the parameters that you are passing in as lists: Element Type, Element Type Name, Opening diameter, could all be gotten on the fly within the loop, with less list management.