Defining Project Variables

In the Dynamo language guide it says a function does not need to take an argument and can return a fixed value. This seems like it could be a useful way to “hide” a lot of wires in a graph if there are variables up front that affect many things (unless I’m missing something). However, I cannot seem to get it to work (not much programming experience, but am trying to learn). Bottom definition is by the book. Top definition is my trying another way…

Function_no_arguments

Hey mate,

I’m not 100% sure as I’m also relatively new to this programming stuff too but my guess is that you need to call the function. The code block is only defining a function, the code blocks on the right need to call that function. So, in the bottom block, it has “x = Ht()” which is calling the function and assigning the result to the variable “x”. In the code blocks on the right, you need to do the same thing; call the function.

Cheers,

Jeremy.

1 Like

A few comments…

1. Jeremy’s right. You’ll need to use Ht() , just Ht will not work.

1. Each of the defined functions will have to have a unique name. You can’t have two functions named Ht

In your case the one code block is redundant as the functions in both blocks are exactly the same. x=Ht() in one of the code blocks is outside the curly braces and not part of the defined function.

The extents of the definition aren’t determined by the code block within which it is contained. You can define multiple functions within the same code block.

1. Once you get familiar with Design Script you wouldn’t need to “hide” wires as your definition will have few or no wires to hide.

Gents,

Spot on! Was missing ( ). These defined functions are nice because they do not need to reside in a folder on your hard drive like custom nodes-- just open and go! Does anyone know if a function can be created that can return more than one value? Multiple values of different types (like custom nodes)?

Nick
Variables