Create floor type by filtered room name

Hi

I am relatively new to Dynamo so bare with me. Although I have created a script to add a floor type to rooms, this floor type is the same throughout all rooms. I would like to filer out a room name and apply a specific floor type to that room. I have looked on the forums and have only found a way to do it with lists from excel, but I want to apply the actual floor and not just text to a parameter. I have created the room boundary, and I have created the filer. I get lost trying to join the two together.

Would appreciate some help, or an alternative way to do what I am asking.

Thank you

Look into the Room.Boundaries node in the Clockwork package as a start. It has a single output for the perimeter lines so you don’t have to rebuild that geometry (which can be very time consuming).

Thank you Jacob, that is much tidier. Still trying to create a floor type for a particular room.

Pardon my ignorance here, but when I click on that link it brings me to written code. How do I get that as a node?

You mean the Dyf?

Yes

the Dyf is the actual node but without a name.
If you save the Dyf in the folder where you’re nodes reside, it shoud show up, i believe.
Am i right here? @jacob.small

Sorry, I really am a Newbie. I’m still lost. How do I save the code as a dyf?

Sorry, forget about it, i opend it myself and looked inside, its old code.
I will try to find a better solution for you in a moment.

Marcel

1 Like

@K104

sorry for the delay.

So, as @jacob.small mentioned, you can get the room boundaries from rooms.
Those lines are called Curves in Dynamo.
If you look at the node Floor.ByOutlineTypeAndLevel it askes you for those outlines in the first input. The second input you can connect to what comes out of the fist picture (a new floor type) and then give it the level of the room you derived the outline from.

@Marcel_Rijsmus